T.I. Saves Suicidal Jumper

Posted: October 15, 2010 in Hip-Hop, music

T.I. saved a suicidal jumper yesterday morning in Atlanta.

 

T.I. is a hero (photo courtesy of perezhilton.com)

 

The jumper was atop a 22 story building in which Ryan Cameron has a radio show on V103.  T.I. was on his way to a music video shoot when he hear about the jumper on the radio and called up Cameron.  The Atlanta rapper promptly drove to the building and recorded a video message for the jumper to watch.  Very convincing with words, T.I. successfully drew the man back down to safety.

According to hiphopdx.com, T.I. had this to say after the incident:

“It had to be destined to happen, because I was on my way to shoot a video,” T.I. said. “I heard this on the radio soon as I was pulling out of my driveway. I called the station and made my way down there, and I asked the negotiators and the policeman if I could be of any help. I was willing to do whatever I could to resolve this peacefully and favorably. They came up with the idea of sending a message. Joshua believed in us enough to take our word for it. He came down off faith, and I was down there and spoke to him for a minute.”

Sources say in the message, T.I. said: “Nothing is that bad. Nothing in life is worth taking your life. I’m here to help you. Please come down to talk to me.”

This Superman act is sure to help T.I.’s popularity, as his stock had been declining following his early September arrest.  The good press is just what T.I. needed to jump start interest in his next album, King Uncaged, which is rumored to be out around Thanksgiving.

Who says rappers are selfish and don’t care about others?

 

T.I. speaks to children (photo courtesy of blog.singersroom.com)

 

Well, T.I. might be an exception, as he’s done a ton of community service work in the past.  His one year and one day jail sentence, which ended on March 26, 2010, was very publicized, but was very short thanks to the community service deal he cut with the judge.

T.I.’s inspirational message was enough to save at least one life in this suicide prevention case.   Props to T.I., this is really awesome stuff to see in the world, especially from a rapper/ celebrity of his status.

The song “Better Day,” off his Paper Trail album fits perfectly in the suicide discussion, as it calls for listeners to forge on in life and overcome obstacles.

Leave a Reply

